Ok, ok, not really pudding for breakfast. But a close enough facsimile to fool my tastebuds!
First off, let's talk chia seeds. Ch-ch-ch-chia! (Lame and overused joke, I know it.)
Yeah yeah, I know, trendy new superfood, just jumping on the band wagon - and to be honest, there's a good deal of that. I just kinda wanted to try them, and they were all over Trader Joe's! I can't resist TJs.
First off, I have a weird thing with textures. I hate cooked peppers, mushrooms fresh or cooked, ripe bananas and red delicious apples because of their texture. The list goes on, but you get the picture. Textures, weird ones, just throw me off. Ch-ch-ch-chia seeds, now there is a SUPER weird texture. But I dig it! Kinda like tapioca, or mini boba ... the longer you soak, the more jelly-like the seeds are. In drinks, I usually like them steeped for about 10 minutes (is steeped the right word?), so that they are still a little firm.
But breakfast pudding, that's an overnighter.
I love Trader Joe's, who doesn't, so this is going to sound like one long plug. I got TJs nonfat greek yogurt, honey and vanilla flavors. Recipe time!
For this one, I used the honey individual sized nonfat greek yogurt. I mixed in 2 tablespoons of milk, 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract, and 2 tablespoons of chia seeds, then re-covered it and let it sit overnight.
In the morning, it was like honeyed tapioca pudding, but so good for you! Chock full of protein, nonfat, only 270 calories, and super filling. That and a cup of coffee, and I was full till 2 pm - and I am not a small girl. Ok, you caught me, I had two cups of coffee. Still!
I'll update later with pictures, but this morning I was too hungry and it was too good!
No comments:
Post a Comment