Monday, August 11, 2014

More salads - hooray!

It's that time again - salad time!

Now, since the most recent post was on quinoa, I'm sure you can imagine what's coming now - quinoa salad. First up, make some quinoa!

Mmmmm, keen-wha.

Next, you know how I love chopping things up ... veggies, at least. Starting with some fresh romaine, cucumber and tomato!

 Like a monochromatic rainbow, or something.

I like to make my own dressing - honey, vinegar and oil, some spices, occasionally some citrus - keep it fresh and light. I know I am just the luckiest duck to live in California right down the street from a farmers market ... I won't rub it in too much, but really, just the best stuff. When the ingredients are good, stick to the fresh flavors and it makes healthy eating easier.

 That's the ticket.

Once you've added everything you want, give it a toss and consume! Fresh iced coffee and a good book highly recommended. 

Bon appétit!

Saturday, August 9, 2014

The Best Quinoa

So ... I'm just going to go ahead and confess something.

I hated quinoa.

For like ... 3 years.

Why, why why, would anyone cook it in water? It's bitter, it stays bitter, I don't get it. Why would you cook 1 cup of quinoa in 2 cups of water, per the instructions on pretty much every bag I've ever tried? It's mushy, like overcooked rice. Gross. Are you trying to make quinoa pudding? (Note to self ... try quinoa pudding.)

No no no. I'll tell you the story of how I learned to stop worrying and love the mother grain.

First off, rinse it if you don't mind losing a few kernels. A couple times. Next, I toast it in the pot. If you don't mind the fat, use 1 tbsp of butter cause to be honest, it tastes the best. If you do, any healthy fat oil will do - I like olive or grapeseed oil, because my mom gave them to me for Christmas and I'm a poor college student.

Next, the chicken stock. Not. Water. Not water! Now, to be honest, I tried to dig the vegetable stock. I'm vegetarian as much as possible, but Oh. My. God. It was so bitter and awful. Just ... just no. Trader Joe's has an Organic Free Range chicken stock, and that works fine for my conscience. Besides, it makes the quinoa deelish. Next, and most importantly for me, I use 1 1/2 cups whenever it recommends 2. This keeps the structure of the quinoa, instead of turning it into a goopy mushy mess.

Recipe time!

Heat 1-2 tbsp of oil in a pot. Once it's hot, add 1 cup of quinoa, tossing to coat in the hot oil. Toast quinoa until it pops and starts to turn golden brown. Add 1 1/2 cups of chicken stock and heat on high until it boils. Turn down to low and simmer for about 10 minutes, until all liquid has been absorbed. Remove from heat and let sit until no longer tongue-burning! I like to add some garlic salt, but you know me and garlic ... add whatever your little heart desires.

Awesome, complete protein, great in salads or as a side dish, or with eggs for breakfast or what have you! This batch usually lasts me through a few meals, store it in the fridge in the meantime.

Wednesday, August 6, 2014

Breakfast pudding

Ok, ok, not really pudding for breakfast. But a close enough facsimile to fool my tastebuds!

First off, let's talk chia seeds. Ch-ch-ch-chia! (Lame and overused joke, I know it.)

Yeah yeah, I know, trendy new superfood, just jumping on the band wagon - and to be honest, there's a good deal of that. I just kinda wanted to try them, and they were all over Trader Joe's! I can't resist TJs.

First off, I have a weird thing with textures. I hate cooked peppers, mushrooms fresh or cooked, ripe bananas and red delicious apples because of their texture. The list goes on, but you get the picture. Textures, weird ones, just throw me off. Ch-ch-ch-chia seeds, now there is a SUPER weird texture. But I dig it! Kinda like tapioca, or mini boba ... the longer you soak, the more jelly-like the seeds are. In drinks, I usually like them steeped for about 10 minutes (is steeped the right word?), so that they are still a little firm.

But breakfast pudding, that's an overnighter.

I love Trader Joe's, who doesn't, so this is going to sound like one long plug. I got TJs nonfat greek yogurt, honey and vanilla flavors. Recipe time!

For this one, I used the honey individual sized nonfat greek yogurt. I mixed in 2 tablespoons of milk, 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract, and 2 tablespoons of chia seeds, then re-covered it and let it sit overnight.

In the morning, it was like honeyed tapioca pudding, but so good for you! Chock full of protein, nonfat, only 270 calories, and super filling. That and a cup of coffee, and I was full till 2 pm - and I am not a small girl. Ok, you caught me, I had two cups of coffee. Still!

I'll update later with pictures, but this morning I was too hungry and it was too good!